Skip to content

Harvest: Seasonal Market Cuisine

January 17, 2010

Harvest and I are pretty much a match made in heaven.  I love how much focus they place on fresh, seasonal ingredients and support local and organic farming.  They care not only about creating high quality innovative food, but do this in sustainable ways that are kind to the environment.  It’s no surprise that my visit to Harvest was a truly enjoyable one on many different levels.  It made me happy to see the dining room and bar completely filled with many others like myself supporting this ‘slow’ approach to food.  The crowd was on the older side, but the atmosphere was lively and inviting. 

The meal was started out with some freshly baked bread served with several different butters.

For my appetizer, I sampled their Spa Menu, which offers cleaner ‘wellness’ conscious dishes.  I ordered the Vietnamese-Style fresh vegetable springrolls that were served with a sweet chili-lemon sauce.  These were light and the perfect way to balance out a meal that was soon to become much more indulgent.  The rolls were filled with a mix of veggies and rice noodles, and were served with a great pickled slaw, which I also polished off. 

Next, I ordered the Angus Beef Pot Roast off of their regular menu.  This was served with melted brussel sprouts, mashed potatoes, and topped with a horseradish creme fraiche.  The serving was much larger than expected, and in fact all of of the dishes off the regular menu were pretty huge.  I didn’t enjoy it as much as the starter and the pot roast itself was a bit of a disappointment.  While it was nice and tender on the inside, the outside edges were a bit too dry.  However, the sauce and the sides made up for this and were seasonal, perfectly balanced, and full of flavor.  

 

While I was completely stuffed at this point from my meal and the sampling of other dishes, I knew I had to try their signature bread pudding dessert, and I was so glad I did!  It was absolutely divine and lived up to the hype.  Every bite was exploding with flavor and the caramel sauce it was served in really took it to the next level.  

The only thing that annoyed me about this experience was rule #17 on the NYTimes list of 100 things restaurant staffers should never do:

17. Do not take an empty plate from one guest while others are still eating the same course. Wait, wait, wait.

While I don’t normally get too offended by little things, especially on a Friday night when I understand the restaurant is extremely busy, the person cleaning the dishes really had no regard for this rule and awkwardly interrupted several times.  However, apart from this the staff was extremely friendly and polite!

Other dishes at the table that I sampled:

It was great to finally sample the food at Harvest and I hope to make it back here sooner rather than later!

Harvest on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

