Skip to content

Iron Barley

May 16, 2010

Iron Barley sure has some personality.  I was looking to try a different restaurant and after a foodie friend recommended this place to me I thought it would be worth checking out.  Honestly, when I first looked at the menu I found it to be boring and wasn’t really expecting very much.  Thankfully, upon arriving, our awesome waitress Rita put my fears to rest and ensured us that the food is actually way better than it looks on the menu, and offered some suggestions.  We went with her recommendations and were so glad we did!  My taste buds were pleasantly surprised with the fun and funky twist on some traditional favorites which played off the chill and down to earth atmosphere of this tavern.  I ended up getting the reuben double dog, which was two brats served on top of hot dog buns, covered with plenty of cheese and saurkrat, which was comforting and deeply satisfying.

reuben double dog

I also sampled the trout, a much more sophisticated dish in comparison.  It was served with a crunchy corn salad and crispy super thin fries, much more delicate and very tasty.

trout

I learned that this place was on the show ‘Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives’ and that the schnitzel and spaetzel, zarzuela, and cured meats are also other popular choices…and can’t wait to go back to try them myself!.  The most memorable dish of the evening had to be the peanut butter blaster pie, a cheesecake-type frozen pie with an oreo crust served with strawberry habanero sauce, Jack daniels jalapeno whipped cream, and chocolate chipotle sauce.

peanut butter blaster pie

At first I was a bit weirded out by the taste, and could tell there was something in it that was way too strong for me.  Once I figured out that it was the cumin in the oreo crust which was throwing everything off, I ate the pie without the crust and loved it.  It was different, but I enjoyed it and was surprised by how well these flavors I never would have thought to put together actually worked (obviously except for the cumin…but apparently depending on who makes it, it’s not always included).   I would definitely recommend this place, especially if you’re open minded about exploring different tastes, flavors, and food combinations! This place also offers and large selection of craft beers, and there’s live music and a decently sized outdoor patio, making it a great summer time outdoor option.

the menu (sorry we greased it up!)

Iron Barley on Urbanspoon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 12:48 pm

    LOVE Iron Barley! I just went a couple months back and had one of the hot dog dishes… a chilli dog maybe? I can’t remember exactly, but it was GOOD! I’m about to move in to an apartment near there, so I’m sure I’ll be back more often this summer. I’ll have to try that dessert!

    • May 17, 2010 5:46 pm

      haha i’d consider moving closer to there just to be a regular here ;) def let me know what you think of the pie!

  2. May 17, 2010 4:15 pm

    ohh man you ordered incredibly awesome looking food, but more importantly, you also make some really really tasty stuff! It’s makin’ me drool just looking at your pictures. :) hahaa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

