Skip to content

Golden Crusted Brussels Sprouts

February 2, 2010

Brussels sprouts are in my opinion one of the tastiest veggies and I just can’t seem to understand why they have such a bad reputation!  I used to exclusively roast them in the oven, but I’ve become less patient recently and decided to give the skillet technique a try…and this has become pretty much the only way I make them these days because it really couldn’t be faster or easier.  Just coat the sprouts in olive oil and sear them in the skillet for a few minutes, sprinkle with salt, pepper or other spices and cheese, and they’re ready!  I like mine a little bit browned so I up the heat for a bit, but you can stop at golden if that’s more your thing.  I can’t seem to get enough of these tender little pockets of nutrition, and they’re even harder to stop eating when dipped in some creamy hummus.  

Golden Crusted Brussels Sprouts

technique from 101 cookbooks

  • 24 smallish brussels sprouts
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for rubbing
  • fine-grain sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, spices
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1) Wash brussels sprouts, cut off ends, and slice in half (from stem to end)

2) Toss with olive oil in a bowl

3) Heat 1Tb olive oil in skillet, place brussels sprouts face down.  Sprinkle with salt

4) Cover, cook 5mins

5) Once tender (check with fork), uncover.  Turn up heat if you want them a bit more browned.  If not, toss in order to turn them over to get some color on the other side

6)  Season with salt, pepper, spices of choice (i used paprika and crushed red pepper), and sprinkle with parmesan cheese

They’re best eaten straight out of the skillet.  If somehow you happen to have leftovers, I’ll be posting a great fast meal they can be incorporated into tomorrow!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jocelynsteiber permalink
    February 2, 2010 4:43 pm

    Hey there! I’ve actually NEVER cooked Brussel Sprouts before! They always look so delicious though. I’m going to have to try it.

    xo

    Jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  2. February 3, 2010 9:01 am

    Oohh.. I love brussels sprouts! I used to hate them until I tried them roasted. Now I can’t get enough of these delicious little veggies 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Harvest Grains with Chicken and Brussels Sprouts « the delish dish

Leave a Reply

