Skip to content

Marinated Portabello and Cauliflower-Cashew Mash

February 21, 2010

When it comes to food, I do not discriminate at all and am willing to try just about anything (except for raw onion…but slowly getting better at this one with time).  While I do not follow any dietary restrictions, I do try to eat as much plant based  minimally processed foods as possible, but do not stress out about the indulgences I treat myself to.  I would call myself a very curious foodie and I enjoy learning about about raw and vegan lifestyles just as much as I love experimenting with conventional cooking.  I have to say I’m fascinated by the creative ingredients, recipes, and techniques that are used to create healthier versions of the regular foods we are used to.  I particularly enjoy Gena’s Choosing Raw blog, whose eloquent and insightful posts are always a pleasure to read.  I’m also a huge fan of her recipes, which are simple and fun to prepare and make it oh so easy to incorporate more raw foods into my diet.  I was officially addicted to her tortilla soup and banana soft serve last summer, but have to admit I haven’t done much ‘uncooking’ this winter.  When I saw her recipe for steak and potatoes using portobello mushrooms for the steak and cauliflower/cashews for the potatoes, I thought this would be a great winter comfort recipe to test out.  It was in fact very easy, you just need to think ahead a bit and marinate the mushrooms overnight.  The final result was a lot less ‘raw-tasting’ than I expected and I particularly enjoyed the portobello and it’s marinade, which I found to be one of my favorite preparations of mushrooms ever!  While I loved the idea of the cashew-cauliflower mash, I would have found it hard to eat were it not for the mushroom and its tangy sweet ‘gravy’ that covered up some of the flavor.  I can’t wait to make the mushrooms again, next time probably serving them in a salad or with some steamed veggies.

Raw ‘Steak and Potatoes’

adapted from Choosing Raw

Day Before

  • 4 Portobello mushroom caps

Mushroom Marinade:

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3 Tbs nama shoyu (this is raw soy sauce, can use regular soy sauce here if you want)
  • Pepper and crushed red pepper to taste

1) Mix marinade ingredients together.  Submerge Portobellos in the marinade (I used ziplock bags and just threw them in the fridge overnight).  

Day of:

Cashew-Cauliflower Mash

  • 1.5 cups raw cashews
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 3 Tbsp mellow white miso
  • 4 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • Pepper to taste (I added a lot to add some flavor)
  • 4 cups cauliflower florets
  • 1/3 cup water

1) Process cashews in food processor till you get a fine powder. 

2) Add miso, lemon juice, pepper, cauliflower and pulse. Taste and adjust seasoning. 

3) Slowly stream in water till a smooth creamy mash forms. 

4) Serve with marinated portabello caps and marinade, plus any veggies you can think of. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 10:02 am

    WOW! This looks delicious–I’m definitely going to try this as a mean n paotato alternative for sure!

  2. February 24, 2010 9:39 pm

    Oooh, I’ve been totally curious to try this recipe of Gena’s but had forgotten til now (there’s too many for me to remember!). This definitely would be friendlier raw food for the colder months. 🙂

  3. Jim permalink
    July 22, 2011 7:15 pm

    Turned out really well!

Leave a Reply

