Skip to content

Happy Easter!

April 4, 2010
tags:

beautiful calla lilies

Happy Easter everyone!! I really wanted to have a great easter recipe to post today but the coconut cupcakes with coconut cream cheese frosting that I made just did not live up to the expectations.  I just haven’t been able to get enough of coconut recently and thought these would satisfy my cravings, but they barely even tasted like coconut.  While they were supposed to be light and fluffy, which is an essential quality for an adequate cupcake, but ended up being dense and almost like a pound cake in cupcake form.  They were moist, but not sweet and the cream cheese frosting wasn’t even much of a frosting, just more like a cream cheese spread.  They’re an okay snack but definitely not holiday worthy so I won’t even bother posting the recipe.  The only redeeming factor was their prettiness.  Should have stuck to my tried and true carrot cake recipe.  Oh well…so much more delicious food to look forward to today I think I’ll be okay getting over this flop.  

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 8:29 am

    Happy Easter! 🙂

  2. April 5, 2010 6:59 pm

    Aw I’m sorry that your cupcakes didn’t work out, but your right, they look pretty! I’ve baked many cakes in my lifetime and I had an issue with a recipe as well. Yesterday I was supposed to bake a carrot cake, which I have made before, and take it to Easter lunch. Funny thing is, the cake turned out horrible! It was completely dry and stuck to the bottom of the pan, even though I floured it. It left me dumbfounded because I have used this recipe before and had amazing results. Oh well, you win some you lose some. 🙂

    • April 13, 2010 5:27 pm

      looks like we had the same bad luck on easter!! so frustrating to have the recipe fail but that can’t stop us from giving it another go!

  3. April 5, 2010 11:55 pm

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! You are an amazing baker/chef/cooker of all things tasty.

  4. May 4, 2010 3:52 am

    For some reason… I can’t get enough coconut either!! They make this delicious coconut chutney in India (all chutneys are, as I find, delicious) but it tastes amazing and is apparently easy and relatively healthy. I’ve also started drinking a coconut a day (the water) while in the tropics… apparently this is becoming popular in yoga studios in the US???

    Miss you!!! I’ll send you food suggestions from afar…

    • May 4, 2010 8:43 am

      miss you too Emily!! you sound like you’re in coconut paradise right now. i want to go to there….

      def send me food suggestions when you have time!! coconut water is awesome too…i was drinking it during my half marathon training but it’s soo expensive here I couldn’t afford to keep buying it. and yeah i think especially bikram yoga places carry it for electrolyte replacement after those sweaty classes!

Leave a Reply

