Skip to content

Coconut Chocolate Macaroons

May 30, 2010

I can’t believe I haven’t written about these coconut macaroons sooner…especially since I’ve made them several times in the past few months and they have helped me get through a major coconut obsession I’ve been having.  This is one of those recipes I have been coming back to over and over and it is definitely a keeper.  The outside of these cookies get nice and crispy while the inside remains soft and chewy so you get the best of both worlds in one cookie!  I like to dip half the cookie in dark chocolate to get my chocolate fix at the same time.  They’re really easy to make too…you make the ‘dough’ in a skillet and there is no mixer or anything fancy needed!

Coconut and Chocolate Macaroons

From David Lebovitz’s Ready for Dessert (Ten Speed)

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2½ cups unsweetened coconut
  • ¼ cup flour
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 ounces chocolate, chopped

1) In a large skillet, mix together the egg whites, sugar, salt, honey, coconut and flour.

2) Heat over low-to-moderate heat on the stovetop, stirring constantly, scraping the bottom as you stir.

3) When the mixture just begins to scorch at the bottom, remove from heat and stir in the vanilla. Transfer to a bowl to cool to room temperature.

(At this point, the mixture can be chilled for up to one week, or frozen for up to two months.)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F

4) When ready to bake, line a baking sheet with parchment paper

5) Form the dough into 1 1/2-inch mounds with your fingers evenly spaced on the baking sheet. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until deep golden brown. Cool completely.

6) To dip the macaroons in chocolate, melt the chocolate in a clean, dry bowl in a microwave (I do this slowly on the defrost setting).  Line a baking sheet with plastic wrap. Dip the bottoms of each cookie in the chocolate and set the cookies on the baking sheet. Refrigerate 5-10 minutes, until the chocolate is set.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 12:36 am

    These were the best macaroons I’ve ever had!! Not tooo sweet or sticky either 😉 can’t wait to try them myself!!

  2. May 31, 2010 8:47 pm

    I love macaroons. And this recipe looks wonderful – I have never addeed honey to macaroons before and I’m excite dto try this. Yum!

  3. June 1, 2010 10:52 am

    I definitely want to try these! I love that they are dipped in chocolate…I’m thinking I would use dark chocolate?! 🙂

    I’m in MI for a week, but we’ll have to catch up when I come back!

  4. June 2, 2010 5:59 am

    I’ve never met a macaroon I did not like, let alone a chocolate one. Must try these! It’ll make me one heck of a popular kid !

  5. June 23, 2010 3:32 pm

    These look fabulous! Yum!

Leave a Reply

