Skip to content

Chocolate Pavlovas with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse: June 2010 Daring Bakers Challenge

June 29, 2010

This was a really enjoyable challenge particularly because I love anything with a meringue-y texture! The pavlovas came out beautifully and nice and crispy.  The chocolate mascarpone mousse came out very bitter…this may have been because of the lemon zest that I think I may have overcooked with the chocolate…next time I would def leave it out.  The whole mousse making process was a bit of a disaster as the fat in the chocolate whipped cream mixture came out of solution and I was left with curdled chocolate bits.  Since I was rushing, I thought I would just go for it and make the mousse anyways and it actually came out great texture wise and the curdled chocolate got incorporated into the creamy mascarpone.  The creme anglaise definitely made the dessert and I couldnt help but pour more and more on mine.  Since this recipe made waaay more that I needed, I ended up throwing the leftovers in my ice cream maker and it turned into amazing custard like ice cream that I have to say even rivaled the famous St. Louis Ted Drewes!

Since Im very pressed for time, I will just link to the recipes (PDF file HERE) instead of posting them here with my changes.  This month has been crazy with summer festivities and getting ready for my trip to Australia and Fiji!!! There will be lots of delicious eats while on vacation, and the cooking and baking will resume once I get back.  Happy July to everyone!

The June 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Dawn of Doable and Delicious. Dawn challenged the Daring Bakers’ to make Chocolate Pavlovas and Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse. The challenge recipe is based on a recipe from the book Chocolate Epiphany by Francois Payard

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

