Skip to content

Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

July 24, 2010

Next up was our liveaboard diving trip of the Great Barrier Reef.  Scuba diving was the last thing I thought I would ever do (or even have the slightest desire to do) but we decided to get scuba certified on a whim right before we left for the trip.  I can’t even describe how incredible this part of the trip was and I feel like it opened up a whole new world for me! I am the extreme opposite of an adrenaline junkie, but found diving to be one of the most beautiful, relaxing, even life-changing experiences of my life (that is after having very very very patient and understanding diving instructors and guides who put up with me…and a certain special someone who held my hand most of the time).  We dove with the Deep Sea Divers Den and they were extremely well organized, helpful, and especially super friendly which made me feel much safer and calmed my inner crazy.  I may have freakout a bit before the night dive when I saw about five reef sharks circling the area where we enter the water, but I did all the dives and loved them all (except the night dive since I was freaked out the whole time and couldn’t really see much).  We got to see tons of beautiful reef fish (esp loved the clownfish, angelfish, trumpet fish, parrot fish, bat fish, trigger fish, LION FISH), sharks, turtles, barracudas, giant clams, stingrays, flatworms and much more! The pics didn’t come out that great, but here are a few of the better ones (we had some really cool videos but wordpress won’t let me upload .avi files) (pictures were taken with an Intova underwater camera, which obviously didn’t take professional quality pictures, but great pics for the price that we paid for it.  Never leaked up to the 18meter dives we took it on, but pictures were much better and less blurry closer to the surface where there was more sunlight.) Tons of food was devoured on this trip but we were so hungry at mealtimes we were not patient enough to take pics.

lionfish--coolest fish ever!

shark!

Nemo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

