Skip to content

Tavarua, Fiji

July 24, 2010
tags: ,

After leaving Sydney, I flew to Fiji to meet up with Ben and my cousin.  I have almost no food pictures which is tragic since we had lots of delicious seafood and the sweetest fruit.  I didn’t want to worry about my camera while we were eating on the island and I ended up forgetting it the one night we were in Nadi.  I did manage to snap a few pics tho so I’ll just post them here.  While in Nadi, we had sushi at Daikoku and tried the Fijian kokoda, which is described as the Fijian ceviche where the fish is marinated in lime juice and coconut milk.  It was soupier than ceviche, but if you like coconut milk (like me!!) you will love this.  The food was very tropical overall and because of the large Indo-Fijian population, the area is known for it’s curries (which I loved despite of not being the biggest Indian food fan).

poke

Poke is a raw fish salad that is popular in Hawaii & my cousin and her fiance made it for us for happy hour.  I had never had it but it is so much better than sushi! It’s basically cubed raw ahi tuna marinated with sea salt, some soy sauce, sesame oil, chilies and onions (the left side is onion free for me).  Seriously need to make this myself asap!

poke

kava

We were excited to partake in a kava ceremony.  Fijians drink kava during ceremonies and social occasions, and it has a relaxing and calming effect.  You basically sit around the tanoa, the large wooden bowl that is used to prepare it from the pounded root that is comes from (it is made from the rot of the pepper tree) and there was music and some talk about the island as the bilo (half coconut shell that the kava is served in) was passed around.  I can’t say I particularly loved the taste, but appreciated the experience and its significance in the Fijian culture.

coconuts!

Enjoying fresh coconut water on the beach.

We didn’t stay long enough to try the octapus!

i miss you tavarua!

Leave a Reply

