Skip to content

Bacon Cheddar Scones

August 6, 2010

These really are the best scones in the world!  And thankfully I had success with this recipe which redeems my confidence in my ability for baking scones. The first (and only) time I’ve tried to make them I ended up with horrible unedible bricks…probably the worst kitchen disaster I’ve ever had, but these guys definitely helped me get over the huge fear I’ve had of them all these years.

I combined two recipes I found and couldn’t decide between (and I even snuck in some whole wheat flour).  I did end up making candied bacon, which left the scones with the unbeatable bacony taste as well as with touch of sweet which ballanced out the slight peppery flavor.  I was afraid I was adding too many scallions, but they ended up being very subtle and next time I would even add more.  The scones themselved were light, crumbly, and soft and the perfect texture took the flavors to the next level.  I made these for breakfast, but I can’t wait to make them again when it gets cold to have along with some hot wintery soups.

Bacon Cheddar Scones

adapted from Annie’s Eats and Cooking of Joy

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 stick butter, cut into small cubes and chilled
  • 10 slices candied bacon
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Egg Wash

  • 1 large egg
  • 2 Tb water

1) Make candied bacon by sprinkling brown sugar over bacon and baking at 375F until crisp

2) Preheat oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or can use ungreased baking sheet)

3) Using an electric mixer with a paddle attachment, combine flours, baking powder, salt, sugar, and black pepper. Mix briefly to combine.

4) Add the butter and mix on low speed until the texture is like cornmeal and butter pieces are the size of small peas.

5) Add in the grated cheese and briefly mix it in.

6) Add the green onions and bacon and stir in.

7) Stir in the heavy cream by hard just until everything is incorporated (If it is too dry, add some liquid) and dough comes together

8 ) Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and pat it into an 8-inch disk.

9) Slice it up into 8-10 wedges and transfer to parchment paper lined baking sheet.

10) Make the egg wash by whisking the egg and the water.

11) Brush each wedge lightly with the egg wash.

12) Bake for 18-20 minutes. The scones will be light golden brown.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 11:18 am

    ahh my friend and i made these a few weeks ago and loved them!!!

  2. August 10, 2010 2:38 pm

    Mmmmm – vegetarian so I can’t partake myself but I’ll be making something along these lines soon as a surprise for the meat-lovng official taster. The smell of them cooking may just kill me!

Leave a Reply

