Skip to content

Ice Cream Petit Fours

September 1, 2010

The August 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Elissa of 17 and Baking. For the first time, The Daring Bakers partnered with Sugar High Fridays for a co-event and Elissa was the gracious hostess of both. Using the theme of beurre noisette, or browned butter, Elissa chose to challenge Daring Bakers to make a pound cake to be used in either a Baked Alaska or in Ice Cream Petit Fours. The sources for Elissa’s challenge were Gourmet magazine and David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”.

I had such high hopes for this challenge…but the final product just did not live up to my expectations (presentation wise…I was more than satisfied with how amazing they tasted, which I guess is the most important thing!) But the perfectionist in me really really wanted these to come out beautiful and perfect just like I had imagined.  And everything was going so well! The ice cream came out so creamy and the pound cake had that nutty brown butter taste I was going for.  The initial assembly seemed so easy and effortless I was sure I was going to end up with clean-cut adorable little pastries…but then when it came to slicing the large cake into the smaller petit fours, everything fell apart.  The ice cream oozed out of the sides of the cake and the cake itself kept crumbling.  Oh well…I still ended up glazing them in chocolate and this added a whole new layer of complexity to these little guys.  And everyone was still really impressed by them.  The great thing about the petit fours is that they can be eaten straight out of the freezer…I couldn’t believe how light and crumbly the dough stays while frozen.  And now the best part is that I can have a bite sized fancy little dessert anytime I want!

Way too many recipes to type out…they can be found here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 5:59 pm

    IGA you are so amazing 😉 missing you and can’t wait to see you in SF soon!!

  2. September 9, 2010 7:19 am

    I think your petit fours are adorable! And I’m sure they are delicious, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

