Skip to content

Seared Tuna with Balsamic Glaze

September 9, 2010
tags:

I wanted to make the main component of this meal extra special, so I went all out and splurged on a few sashimi grade tuna steaks.  We love our fish as raw as possible so I thought some barely seared tuna would be the perfect centerpiece of this meal.  I decided to make a balsamic reduction sauce to glaze the tuna with and it worked so much better than I ever thought it would….the glaze was detectable but let the tuna steak itself take center stage. Just before searing I generously glazed the tuna and since I promised the sushi chef at Whole Foods that I would absolutely not let this tuna go to waste by over cooking it, I threw it on the pan for exactly 10 seconds per side just to infuse it with the glaze and create a gentle seared surface.  This tuna was so incredible and left us completely breathless!

Seared Tuna with Balsamic Glaze

adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 6 Tb white wine
  • 1 cup plus 2 Tb balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 t freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 fresh sashimi grade tuna steaks (about 1 pound)
  • hand full of greens for serving

1)   Combine wine, vinegar, sugar, and ¼ t pepper in a small saucepan over medium-high heat.  Simmer until thickened, 25 to 30 minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside.

2)   Sprinkle steaks with salt and pepper and brush with balsamic glaze. Sear 10 seconds per side and place on top of greens.

I had lots of leftover syrupy glaze from this recipe that I just put in the fridge and have been using on my caprese salads eversince….the thicker balsamic glaze tastes much more like a high quality fancy balsamic vinegar.

I served the tuna with gnocchi and risotto stuffed tomatoes…recipes coming up!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 3:42 pm

    This tuna looks wonderful and fresh! And those stuffed tomatoes sound awesome too.. can;t wait to hear about them!

Trackbacks

  1. Risotto Stuffed Tomatoes « the delish dish
  2. Spinach Ricotta Gnocchi with Beurre Blanc Sauce « the delish dish

Leave a Reply

