Skip to content

Decorated Sugar Cookies: September 2010 Daring Baker Challenge

October 1, 2010

 

happy fall!!

 

I actually ended up really enjoying this month’s challenge.  While I did not have time to frost each cookie perfectly and patiently, I think I ended up doing a pretty good job for my first real attempt at royal icing decorations.  I’ve decorated simple holiday cookies in the past, but never with the outlining/flooding technique so it was really cool to get some practice and be inspired for future cookie decorating occasions.  I do wish I kept it a bit more simple and picked just one or two cookie types to decorate, so next time I will keep it basic.  For this challenge, I made a variety of fall cookies as well as some fun coffee cookies since lots of it has been necessary in the past few weeks in order to keep up with all the craziness at work.  They came out great and I can’t wait to experiment with sprinkles and disco dust next time!

The September 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mandy of “What the Fruitcake?!” Mandy challenged everyone to make Decorated Sugar Cookies based on recipes from Peggy Porschen and The Joy of Baking.

Recipes can be found here.

 

coffeee break

 

close ups of my favorites:

 

pretty pumpkin

 

Additional cookies made:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 11:34 am

    I’m impressed-these look great!!

  2. October 11, 2010 5:43 pm

    your sugar cookies turned out so well! they are almost too pretty to eat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

