Skip to content

Terrene

November 10, 2010

I decided to postpone my birthday celebration till our Napa trip this month in order to dine at Ad Hoc, but on the actual day in St. Louis I wanted to spend the evening at Terrene.  I’ve been to Terrene before for drinks and appetizers, but have never had a whole meal till this visit.  I cannot say how pleasantly surprised I was with the quality of the food for the price we ended up paying.  I loved the approachable laid-back atmosphere of this place with its ultra-simple and clean design.  It was definitely the type of place that is putting in a lot of effort into making sustainably raised food affordable and available to everyone.  The menu goes from simple entrees such as grass fed burgers and spans a spectrum of other more intricate dishes.

We started off with the frisee salad which included a confit of duck breast, mission figs, chevre, pistachios, balsamic vinegar.  The salad was tasty and it was good to get some greens into our meal, but the duck breast was a little dry and definitely not my favorite.

…however, the pork belly majorly made up for the frisee salad.  It was glazed in molasses and served with butternut squash and pepitas.  I can’t believe this was the first time I’ve ever eaten pork belly and how much I have been missing out.  It was so incredibly tender and delicious and I am now fully on the pork belly bandwagon.  The butternut squash added a bit of sweetness to the fatty goodness.  Although this dish looks small, it’s incredibly filling so I would recommend sharing with at least one other person.

Unlike the overcooked duck on the frisee salad, this pan seared duck breast was pure perfection.  It was served with a sweet potato puree, rapini and blackberry sauce.  I loved this delicate dish so much and the blackberry sauce was a great finishing touch.

The lamb pot roast was the succulent and comforting dish of the evening, made up of slow cooked Colorado leg of lamb, baby turnips, carrots, chanterelles, mashed potatoes and jus.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever tasted lamb this tender and I was really into the home-cooked feel of this dish.

I was so happy to enjoy this amazing food on my birthday and will make sure to dine here more often.  We were too stuffed this time around to get any dessert, but all the more reason to come back next time!

Terrene on Urbanspoon

One Comment leave one →
  1. Denise Evans permalink
    December 17, 2010 12:57 pm

    So glad you enjoyed your meal. The duck entree looks and sounds amazing. Let me know what you think of your dinner @ Stone Soup Cottage. I know you will love it!

    Happy holiday cooking!

Leave a Reply

