Skip to content

Truffle Extravaganza

March 23, 2011

This past weekend I helped throw a couple’s wedding shower for our friends who are getting married next month and decided truffles would be the perfect dessert addition.  I admit I went completely overboard and made an excessive amount but I actually had a ton of fun with the process.  I did have to space out the work over the entire week, so I made the Brazilian coconut milk fudge ones first and then made the Chambord, Blackberry, and Cookie Dough truffles over the next couple of days, enrobing them all at once the night before the shower.  Since there’s way too many recipes to post, I’m just going to link to them since they’re very straightforward.

The Cookie Dough and Blackberry truffles were from Annie’s Eats, whose virtual baby shower first inspired me to give truffle-making a try in the first place.  While I’m not the biggest cookie dough fan, I thought the flavor here was spot-on and was relieved to not have to worry about any raw egg being involved.  The Blackberry truffles were also fantastic and would probably have been voted as the favorite.  The texture was soft and light and the blackberry flavor was subtle but definitely present and gave the dark chocolate sweetness and balance.  Since these were the last on the list to make and I was getting a little bit tired of being careful and meticulous with the chocolate enrobing at that point, I just rolled them in a mixture of cocoa powder sweetened with powdered sugar to make my life easier.  Next up, the Chambord truffles were perfect for the dark-chocolate lovers (here I just added Chambord instead of the Grand Marnier like the recipe states).  Although the dark chocolate flavor overshadowed the raspberry Chambord, it did add a bit of complexity to what would have been a plain dark chocolate truffle (these are the ones drizzled over with white chocolate, since I thought that would sweeten them up a bit.  While this recipe goes into tempering chocolate used for the enrobing, I didn’t bother to do that & just followed the enrobing instructions of the cookie dough truffles).  Last but not least were the Brazilian coconut milk fudge balls, which were really different and fun.  Since Im obsessed with all things coconut I loved these, but they were very intensely sweet so you definitely have to have a sweet-tooth to appreciate them.  Although enrobing them in chocolate proved to be a bit frustrating and messy it was so worth it to be able to bite through the outer crunchy layer to get to the soft coconut center.  Every single truffle was delicious in it’s own special way and everyone was so impressed by how adorable and professional these looked so I definitely recommend making some for your next get-together or party!

the desserts table

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 10:13 am

    what a gorgeous looking dessert table! I have been dying to make Annie’s blackberry truffles, glad to know they were a hit!

    • March 24, 2011 10:52 am

      absolutely!! you must give them a try…and with the cocoa powder they were the easiest to make too!

  2. Kamilla permalink
    March 24, 2011 8:36 pm

    These look incredibly gorgeous and tasty! Truffles have always been a mystery to me, but now I feel like I could even give it a try.
    (PS: I’m one of marta’s friends, discovered your blog, and follow it religiously!). 🙂

  3. March 27, 2011 5:44 pm

    those are so pretty iga! definitely elegant and impressive. and a bit intimidating, too. 🙂

  4. June permalink
    March 30, 2011 4:28 pm

    Hi, a research coordinator in the peds group Ben shared your blog with us… these looked delicious and the table was beautiful! I am eager to try these myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

