Skip to content

Hawaii-Big Island

May 11, 2011

Thanks to everyone for all the wonderful messages on my previous Hawaii posts! I was planning on following up with some shots of the Big Island since it was full of the most beautiful and diverse landscape I’ve ever seen.  I chose the Big Island for the second week of our Hawaii vacation because I wanted something more than the typical tropical island experience.  I wanted to see volcanoes, lava fields, the famous black-sand beaches, waterfalls and rainforests–but at the same time I wanted the white-sand beaches to chill out on after our adventures.  The Big Island experience was much more relaxed and laid back than O’ahu–and provided some much needed personal rejuvenation and recharging that can only come from nature.  Here are some shots of my favorite places.

Puuhonua O Honaunau National Historic Park-a Hawaiian sacred site

Kilauea Iki Crater that we hiked through at Volcanoes National Park

floor of the crater--still fuming after lava blasted through here in 1959

Thurston Lava Tube-lava flowed through here during the eruption

Halemaumau Crater seen from the Jagger Museum

Leaves falling on Coconut Island in Hilo

Akaka Falls

High Tide with Kailua-Kona in the background

splash zone!

Kona at Sunset

Kahaluu Beach Park-not the prettiest beach but the best snorkeling right off shore-giant sea turtles, Picasso triggerfish, parrotfish, yellow tang, damselfish, toadfish, pufferfish, butterflyfish, needlefish & more! We came here for a swim almost every morning

Tons of Sea Turtles

Anaehoomalu Bay--fringed with palm trees

Hapuna Beach

Gorgeous white-sand Hapuna Beach

Jade-green cliffs of Hamakua Coast seen from Pololu Valley

Pololu Valley--breathtaking!

Kolaha Coast Sunset

Our gate at the airport

If I return I’d love to come during a time of more volcanic activity since we were not able to see fresh lava flowing, and would also love to see the winter seasons in order to catch the magnificent Humpback whales.  Also since we stayed in Kona this time, in the future I would chose the Kohala coast which was so lush and beautiful I just couldn’t get enough.  And next time I WILL remember my underwater camera so I don’t miss out on capturing some of the most beautiful and colorful fish I’ve ever seen!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 9:57 am

    Your pics are goreous! I hope to take a trip there someday!

  2. May 11, 2011 1:15 pm

    Beautiful! I love the light in the lava tunnel and that waterfall, oh and the waves!

  3. May 12, 2011 8:07 pm

    Awesome Pics!! Thank you!

  4. May 14, 2011 8:18 am

    Looks like you had a wonderful time in Hawaii. It is definitely at the top of my traveling wish list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

