Skip to content

Pasta Primavera with Homemade Pomodoro Sauce

May 27, 2011

With Memorial Day and the St. Louis summer being just around the corner, I made this pasta primavera dish as an attempt and a plea to keep springtime around for as long as possible.  I absolutely am not ready for the heat and humidity that comes each year and would do pretty much anything to have this cooler weather stick around just a little bit longer…minus the crazy tornadoes and downpours of course.  And this isn’t just any boring old pasta and sauce recipe.  I found it in an article about runner and chef Joe Bastianich in Runner’s World last year, where he shares a recipe for homemade Pomodoro sauce and uses it as a base in the remaining recipes.  While I had not known that Bastianich was a runner, I was well aware of his Babbo, Otto, Del Posto, and Eataly fame and knew that any recipe good enough for him to share was good enough for me to eat.  I have to say the Pomodoro sauce recipe (or I should say my Arrabiata version) made all the difference in the final outcome and reinvented pasta for me.  And the primavera portion was even easier–it just took some broiling of fresh springtime vegetables and dinner was served!  I made lots of extra sauce so still have a few batches left in the freezer and can’t wait to try out his seafood and eggplant dishes next time.

Have a great holiday weekend everyone!! Appropriately we’re off to the east coast and already have an Eataly stop worked into our schedule!

Pomodoro Sauce

from Runner’s World

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 3 16-ounce cans of peeled, whole Italian San Marzano plum tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon Sicilian oregano (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional for Arrabiata version)

1) Heat oil in a saucepan over medium. Add garlic and saute until golden brown, about three minutes.

2) While garlic browns, pour tomatoes into a bowl. Squeeze with your hands to break them up. Add tomatoes and their juice to the saucepan.

3) Add oregano (if using), salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes (if using). Simmer on low for 45 minutes.

4) Add a little water if needed to keep sauce from becoming too thick (it should be bright red; if it turns brick red, it’s too thick).

Makes six one-cup servings.

Pasta Primavera

  • Pomodoro sauce
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch slices, or diced (I skipped this, substituting with asparagus)
  • 1 yellow pepper, sliced into 1/4-inch strips
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cup peas
  • 1 pound pasta of choice

1) Put a large pot of heavily salted water on high heat to boil and add pasta.  Simmer pomodoro in a saucepan on low.

2) Meanwhile, place the onion, zucchini/asparagus, yellow pepper, and mushrooms on a 9×13 baking sheet. Season with salt and pepper to taste, then drizzle with the oil and toss lightly.

3) Broil at 400° F until almost tender (about 10 minutes, turning vegetables halfway through).

4) Add cherry tomatoes and peas to the pan, and broil for two more minutes. Set vegetables aside.

5) Two minutes before pasta is cooked, remove it from water and add to the pomodoro sauce, along with a little pasta water if needed to keep sauce liquid.

6) Stir and simmer over low heat until pasta is tender.

7) Add the vegetables and gently stir. Season with salt and pepper. Serves six.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 9:04 am

    I remember reading that article! This looks great!

    I love the heat so I’m not too sad to let Spring go 😉

  2. May 27, 2011 9:57 am

    Yummy!! I like the roasted veggies in there instead of stir fry 🙂 yum yum!

  3. May 27, 2011 1:32 pm

    What a lovely dish. The color is amazing and would brighten any day. I’m relatively new to your blog and don’t often comment. I just wanted you to know that I am a regular visitor and really enjoy the time I spend here. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. May 29, 2011 7:13 am

    The StL heat was never my fave either!
    Hope you have a fantastic Memorial Day!

  5. May 30, 2011 12:14 pm

    I live for pasta; seriously… it’s kind of sad. Enjoy Eatly; I find myself there almost every other day; total luxury!

  6. June 19, 2011 9:56 am

    Looks delicious! I love combining all those good summer vegetables on pasta 🙂

Leave a Reply

