Skip to content

Thai Beef with Chiles & Basil over Coconut Rice

June 22, 2011

Ever since Hawaii I just haven’t been able to get enough Asian food.  While in my fantasy world I’d totally eat sushi and poke everyday, in the real world meals like this one hit the spot without making me go bankrupt.  I still can’t get over how much better this was than anything I’ve even had at any of the Thai places in St. Louis and how economical it was, even if you go all out and use high quality grass fed beef.  This was one of those dishes I just kept on craving and made over and over…thankfully Ben forced me to stop so I didn’t overdo it and ruin a fantastic recipe for myself.  You can experiment with the meat you use too–I like it best with beef, but when I’m less broke I’ll try using steak strips in place of ground beef to fancy it up a bit.

Thai Beef with Chiles & Basil over Coconut Rice

from Martha Stewart

  • 1 1/4 cups brown or regular jasmine rice
  • 1 can (13.5 ounces) coconut milk
  • Coarse salt
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • handful of thai chiles or 3 long hot peppers or red jalapeno chiles, seeded and sliced into 2-inch matchsticks
  • 1 1/4 pounds ground beef sirloin
  • 1 cup loosely packed torn fresh basil leaves
  • Lime wedges, for serving
1) In a medium saucepan, combine rice, coconut milk, 3/4 cup water, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Cover and bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook until rice is tender and liquid has been absorbed, about 25 minutes (longer for brown rice–just follow package instructions)
2) When rice is almost done, combine fish sauce, soy sauce, and sugar in a small bowl; set aside.
3) Heat a skillet or wok over high. Add oil and heat; add garlic and half the chiles. Cook, stirring constantly, 15 seconds.
4) Add beef and cook, breaking up meat with a wooden spoon, until completely browned, about 4 minutes.
5) Add soy mixture and cook 30 seconds. Add basil and remaining chiles and stir to combine. Serve beef over coconut rice with lime wedges.
No comments yet

Leave a comment