Skip to content

Korean food with dshimmy

January 30, 2010

I almost cried when I found out that KoBa, the ONLY Korean bbq place I knew of in St. Louis, was closing.  Not relocating. Closing. Forever.  Despite being a 45 minute drive out of our way, we used to make the trip out there as much as possible for their perfectly marinated meat that was cooked up for you right at your table.  It was a great place for larger group dinners and special occasions.  

Luckily, while in NYC, I got to meet up with my great friend Dan, THE person who first introduced me to Korean food back in college.  So we went to Korea town and had a wonderful time catching up at place Dan recommended.  I did get my fill of yummy Korean food, but unfortunately it was not nearly enough Dan time!  

kalbi…my favorite!!

suhlungtang soup…nice and simple broth based beef soup.  this was my first time having this and it was exactly what I needed on one of the coldest days in NY. 

After seeing my okonomiyaki post, Dan suggested I make the Korean version with seafood called pahjun.  I will surely be working on the recipe, which will have to satisfy my Korean food cravings for now. 

Thank you Dan for such a great lunch…one day we will once again be in the same city and enjoy lots more foodie time!!  

Walk through union square farmers market…

i miss this city!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:06 am

    Mmmmm Korean BBQ is the best!!

Trackbacks

  1. Korean Pancake: Pahjun, Pa Jun, Pajeon?! « the delish dish

Leave a comment