Skip to content

Tartine’s Buttermilk Scones

September 18, 2010

I’m getting so psyched about my upcoming trip to San Francisco (and the many many Tartine visits that I will be making) and getting myself even more excited by baking my way through some of Tartine’s famous recipes.  While on my last few visits I only got to sample their morning buns, bread pudding and pumpkin pie, there are so many other classics I’ve been dying to try.  Since I’ve recently restored my confidence in scone making, and since I’ve been dying to bake with currants, I naturally was drawn towards their buttermilk scones with Zante currants.  I made sure not to overmix the butter into the dough, leaving small butter pieces intact…and they came out super flaky exactly like they were supposed too!! They are at their best as soon as they come out of the oven.

Tartine’s Buttermilk Scones

from the Tartine Cookbook, recipe found here

makes 12 scones

  • 4 3/4 cups of flour
  • 1/2 cup of dried Zante currants
  • 1 Tb of baking powder
  • 3/4 t of baking soda
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 1/4 t of salt
  • 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon of cold, unsalted butter cut into 1inch cubes
  • 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon of grated lemon zest

For the topping:

  • about 3 tablespoons of melted butter
  • coarse sugar

1) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper
2) Pour hot water into a small bowl and pour the currants inside, allowing them to plump up for 10 minutes.  Drain.
3) Sift together the flour, baking soda and baking powder into the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Add the salt and sugar and mix slowly to combine.
4) Scatter butter cubes into the dry ingredients in the mixing bowl. Pulse the mixer to combine just until butter pieces are the size of peas.
5) Pour in the buttermilk, lemon zest and currents, and mix just until the dough just comes together (can add a bit more buttermilk if it is too dry).
6) Flour a clean surface and place the dough onto it, shaping it into a long rectangle (about 5 inches wide and 1 1/2 inches thick).
7) Brush the dough with melted butter and generously sprinkle with the sugar. Cut the dough into 12 even-sized triangles and transfer them to your baking sheet.
8 ) Bake the scones for 25 to 35 minutes (until the tops are lightly browned).

Serve immediately!

Some memories from last year’s Tartine visits:

Fruity Bread Pudding

morning bun

Leave a comment